Home >
Giving > The Steven M. Castle Award
page tools :

The Steven M. Castle Award

2014 Honoree:  Kimberly Dreier


In a relatively new tradition, the previous year’s Castle Award winner introduces the newest recipient. The award was established in 1990 in honor of Steven M. Castle, a man “who gave unselfishly of himself and through his deeds inspired others to do the same for Pine Point.” Dionne Butler introduced this year’s Castle Award winner, Kimberly Dreier, and presented her with the Boston Rocker given to each recipient. This year’s presentation marked the 25th time the award has been made to an outstanding volunteer.


Kim threw herself into the life of the School almost as soon as her family arrived in the fall of 2007. She has been a driving force in the fall and spring book fairs, a faithful library volunteer, and a co-president of the Parents’ Association. She currently serves as a trustee. She is the mother of John Rick ’12 (who was on hand to join in the celebration), Julianna Rick ’14, and Jamison Rick ’18.


Chair of the Arts Department Jean Williams, reflecting on this year’s winner of the Castle Award said, “Kim always helped Maria [Iacoi] with costumes during John's time in the musical and has been incredibly helpful with the Lower School Chorus. She has always been supportive of the arts by offering to do whatever she can to help and has altered her schedule to work around ours (i.e. driving here, there, and everywhere). And I have always felt comfortable asking her for help which I think speaks volumes. What an outstanding choice.”

Past Winners

Susan Arms
Patience Banister
Helen Brewster
Candy and Peter Briggs
Dionne Butler
Joy Castle
Tom Castle ’67
Kevin Fiftal
John Fiore
Susan Funk
Linda Goddard
Alice Groton
Patty Kitchings
Elaine Lattizori
Allen and Barbara Leadbetter
Ellen Humphreville McGuire ’68
Jacque Montemarano
Debbie O’Brien
Debby O’Brien
Ardice Perry
Annie Philbrick
Jennifer Schwindt
Karen Stone
Susan and John Wronowski

Eight past Castle Award winners were on hand to welcome to their group this year’s newest winner, Kim Dreier. Kim is shown with Dionne Butler, Ardice Perry, Karen Stone, Ellen Humphreville McGuire ’68, Kevin Fiftal, Head of School Diana Owen, Patience Banister, Alice Groton, and Debbie O’Brien.



Pine Point School, 89 Barnes Road, Stonington, CT 06378, Phone:1-860-535-0606, Fax:1-860-535-8033
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite